top of page
  • Writer's picture鸑岚朠 Yuè LánYīng

男人哭吧不是罪 Cry Men Cry, It's Not a Crime



When I was a youth,

people around me said

I cannot shed tears.

When I became a man,

looking in the mirror I said

there cannot be any regrets.

Within these limits

I incessantly pace.

My heart is on the tightrope of life

endlessly going back and forth.

Every day, from morning until evening,

people wear a mask.

My heart is worn out and weary.

When it is time to cry,

my eyes have forgotten how to shed tears.

When it is time for regret,

my heart has forgotten how to feel.

The invisible pressures on me are so heavy,

I'm so tired.

Starting to feel it's hard to breathe,

starting to slowly break down my defenses,

slowly feeling regret and slowly shedding tears.

Cry, men, cry! It's not a crime.

Even the strongest person

has the right to be exhausted.

Behind the smile there is just heartbreak.

Why does being human have to be such a grind?

Cry, men, cry! It's not a crime.

Taste the flavor of your long banished tears.

Even the rain has a kind of beauty,

so take advantage of this opportunity

to let it all out and cry.

Clearly crying now is the perfect time,

but the eyes have forgotten how to shed tears.

Clearly now is the time to feel regret,

but the heart has forgotten how to feel.

The invisible pressures on me are so heavy,

I'm so tired.

Starting to feel it's hard to breathe,

starting to slowly break down my defenses,

slowly feeling regret and slowly shedding tears.


Cry, men, cry! It's not a crime.

Even the strongest person

has the right to be exhausted.

Behind the smile there is just heartbreak.

Why does being human have to be such a grind?


Cry, men, cry! It's not a crime.

Taste the flavor of your long banished tears.

Even the rain has a kind of beauty,

so take advantage of this opportunity

to let it all out and cry.

It's not a crime.


 

Translator: 鸑岚朠 Yuè LánYīng Buy Me Tea

Composer 作曲: 刘天健

Lyrics 作词: 红衣

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 Thoughts in Translation

bottom of page