top of page
  • Writer's pictureพิชญา Pichaya

The Little Prince, Chapter 1, Thai

Updated: May 21, 2021

This is my first time reading The Little Prince. I thought that this would be an easy Thai book to read, but after going through Ch. 1 with Y, I realized that I often misread sentences and took away the wrong meaning completely. It's helpful to hear Y's translation from Chinese to English as well as my own (from Thai to English), and to see if they match up.


I like that the story is about the boy's sense of wonder and play. That's one my favorite topics in psychology (see: Donald Winnicott's Playing and Reality). I want to know if the adults stifle the little boy's thinking, or if he continues to develop as a creative person.


Below are some words that I had to look up. I love the way that academic subjects end with the term "saad" in Thai.


งูเหลือม - boa/python

ป่าดงดิบ - rainforest

ภูมิศาสตร์ - geography

ประวัติศาสตร์ - history

ภาษาศาสตร์ - linguistics


I noticed that I tend to get impatient when reading Thai, and try to move too quickly. Reading aloud helps with that. We still had a paragraph left of Ch. 1, so I'm excited to get to that this coming Thursday.




68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2021 Thoughts in Translation

bottom of page